Course description

Northern College is offering the new GCSE English Language Lift (9-1) qualification which has been designed to engage and motivate adult students through a choice of contemporary texts, relatable modern themes, and skills-based writing tasks. This qualification is an alternative to the current GCSE English Language qualification, not a replacement, and holds the same value.

What can this course lead to?

GCSE English at Grade 4 or above is a qualification which is often required to access higher study, either at Level 3 or in Higher Education. This is also a qualification which makes you more competetive in the jobs market.

Want to learn more?

You can find out more about Northern College and the courses on offer at one of our Open Events.

Location

Northern College, Yorkshire

Course session dates

Session dates for 4 October 2022 - 23 May 2023

  • Tuesday 04 Oct 2022 to Tuesday 04 Oct 2022
  • Tuesday 11 Oct 2022 to Tuesday 11 Oct 2022
  • Tuesday 18 Oct 2022 to Tuesday 18 Oct 2022
  • Tuesday 25 Oct 2022 to Tuesday 25 Oct 2022
  • Tuesday 01 Nov 2022 to Tuesday 01 Nov 2022
  • Tuesday 08 Nov 2022 to Tuesday 08 Nov 2022
  • Tuesday 15 Nov 2022 to Tuesday 15 Nov 2022
  • Tuesday 22 Nov 2022 to Tuesday 22 Nov 2022
  • Tuesday 29 Nov 2022 to Tuesday 29 Nov 2022
  • Tuesday 06 Dec 2022 to Tuesday 06 Dec 2022
  • Tuesday 13 Dec 2022 to Tuesday 13 Dec 2022
  • Tuesday 20 Dec 2022 to Tuesday 20 Dec 2022
  • Tuesday 10 Jan 2023 to Tuesday 10 Jan 2023
  • Tuesday 17 Jan 2023 to Tuesday 17 Jan 2023
  • Tuesday 24 Jan 2023 to Tuesday 24 Jan 2023
  • Tuesday 31 Jan 2023 to Tuesday 31 Jan 2023
  • Tuesday 07 Feb 2023 to Tuesday 07 Feb 2023
  • Tuesday 14 Feb 2023 to Tuesday 14 Feb 2023
  • Tuesday 21 Feb 2023 to Tuesday 21 Feb 2023
  • Tuesday 28 Feb 2023 to Tuesday 28 Feb 2023
  • Tuesday 07 Mar 2023 to Tuesday 07 Mar 2023
  • Tuesday 14 Mar 2023 to Tuesday 14 Mar 2023
  • Tuesday 21 Mar 2023 to Tuesday 21 Mar 2023
  • Tuesday 28 Mar 2023 to Tuesday 28 Mar 2023
  • Tuesday 04 Apr 2023 to Tuesday 04 Apr 2023
  • Tuesday 11 Apr 2023 to Tuesday 11 Apr 2023
  • Tuesday 18 Apr 2023 to Tuesday 18 Apr 2023
  • Tuesday 25 Apr 2023 to Tuesday 25 Apr 2023
  • Tuesday 02 May 2023 to Tuesday 02 May 2023
  • Tuesday 09 May 2023 to Tuesday 09 May 2023
  • Tuesday 16 May 2023 to Tuesday 16 May 2023
  • Tuesday 23 May 2023 to Tuesday 23 May 2023

Course fees and funding support

Functional skills and GCSE qualifications in English and Maths are free to anyone who doesn't already have either a grade 4 (C), or a Level 2, in the specific subject. This means, if you're aged 19 or over, the government will fund your English and Maths studies until you achieve either of these grades whether you are in work or not.

Course Fee FREE