Course description

Northern College is offering the new GCSE English Language Lift (9-1) qualification which has been designed to engage and motivate adult students through a choice of contemporary texts, relatable modern themes, and skills-based writing tasks. This qualification is an alternative to the current GCSE English Language qualification, not a replacement, and holds the same value.

What can this course lead to?

GCSE English at Grade 4 or above is a qualification which is often required to access higher study, either at Level 3 or in Higher Education. This is also a qualification which makes you more competetive in the jobs market.

Want to learn more?

You can find out more about Northern College and the courses on offer at one of our Open Events.

Location

Northern College, Yorkshire

Course session dates

Session dates for 3 October 2022 - 22 May 2023

  • Monday 03 Oct 2022 to Monday 03 Oct 2022
  • Monday 10 Oct 2022 to Monday 10 Oct 2022
  • Monday 17 Oct 2022 to Monday 17 Oct 2022
  • Monday 24 Oct 2022 to Monday 24 Oct 2022
  • Monday 07 Nov 2022 to Monday 07 Nov 2022
  • Monday 14 Nov 2022 to Monday 14 Nov 2022
  • Monday 21 Nov 2022 to Monday 21 Nov 2022
  • Monday 28 Nov 2022 to Monday 28 Nov 2022
  • Monday 05 Dec 2022 to Monday 05 Dec 2022
  • Monday 12 Dec 2022 to Monday 12 Dec 2022
  • Monday 19 Dec 2022 to Monday 19 Dec 2022
  • Monday 09 Jan 2023 to Monday 09 Jan 2023
  • Monday 16 Jan 2023 to Monday 16 Jan 2023
  • Monday 23 Jan 2023 to Monday 23 Jan 2023
  • Monday 30 Jan 2023 to Monday 30 Jan 2023
  • Monday 06 Feb 2023 to Monday 06 Feb 2023
  • Monday 13 Feb 2023 to Monday 13 Feb 2023
  • Monday 20 Feb 2023 to Monday 20 Feb 2023
  • Monday 27 Feb 2023 to Monday 27 Feb 2023
  • Monday 06 Mar 2023 to Monday 06 Mar 2023
  • Monday 13 Mar 2023 to Monday 13 Mar 2023
  • Monday 20 Mar 2023 to Monday 20 Mar 2023
  • Monday 27 Mar 2023 to Monday 27 Mar 2023
  • Monday 03 Apr 2023 to Monday 03 Apr 2023
  • Monday 10 Apr 2023 to Monday 10 Apr 2023
  • Monday 17 Apr 2023 to Monday 17 Apr 2023
  • Monday 24 Apr 2023 to Monday 24 Apr 2023
  • Monday 01 May 2023 to Monday 01 May 2023
  • Monday 08 May 2023 to Monday 08 May 2023
  • Monday 15 May 2023 to Monday 15 May 2023
  • Monday 22 May 2023 to Monday 22 May 2023

Course fees and funding support

Functional skills and GCSE qualifications in English and Maths are free to anyone who doesn't already have either a grade 4 (C), or a Level 2, in the specific subject. This means, if you're aged 19 or over, the government will fund your English and Maths studies until you achieve either of these grades whether you are in work or not.

Course Fee FREE