Course description

Are you thinking about university but want to work on your skills before applying to an Access course?

Then this course could set you on the right path. If you need a bit more time to think about what you want to do at university, to develop your study skills, or your confidence whilst getting back into education, this could be the right course for you.

You don’t need any qualifications to come on this course, but you do need to be determined to challenge yourself and work hard.

You will study subjects such as:

  • literature
  • history
  • psychology
  • ICT skills for study
  • criminology
  • social policy

Options to study Functional Skills English and Maths are available to add to your programme. (subject to timetabling)

You will also get the opportunity to work on your English and study skills during the course, learning how to research and write academic essays and present information in a variety of formats.

Course session dates

Session dates for 8 May 2023 - 19 July 2023

  • Monday 08 May 2023 to Wednesday 10 May 2023
  • Monday 15 May 2023 to Wednesday 17 May 2023
  • Monday 22 May 2023 to Wednesday 24 May 2023
  • Monday 05 Jun 2023 to Wednesday 07 Jun 2023
  • Monday 12 Jun 2023 to Wednesday 14 Jun 2023
  • Monday 19 Jun 2023 to Wednesday 21 Jun 2023
  • Monday 26 Jun 2023 to Wednesday 28 Jun 2023
  • Monday 03 Jul 2023 to Wednesday 05 Jul 2023
  • Monday 10 Jul 2023 to Wednesday 12 Jul 2023
  • Monday 17 Jul 2023 to Wednesday 19 Jul 2023